Passover

I love Pesach. It’s my favorite holiday of the whole year. Even though I routinely get sick to death of matzah by about the second day. I love the seder, I love the symbolism. This year, I spent it in Miami, with my aunt and uncle, who hosted the seder, as well as their children, and their children’s children, my great aunt Marian, my obnoxiously loud cousin Joe, and my other cousin Steven. It was actually the first year I have ever been to Miami for Passover, even though 75% of my mother’s family lives there. Growing up, my parents and two other families in San Antonio celebrated together.

This year, my uncle led the seder, and while we read the “Four Questions” (which are really four “answers” to the question “why is this night different than all other nights?”) he asked us this: What would your personal fifth question be? My mother immediately came back with hers: What is your definition of freedom? So I ask this of you, blog-readers: How do you define freedom? It seems like a particularly important question this year, both on our domestic front and in the world outside of America, and it gets right to the heart of the meaning of Passover. I’ll be mulling this question over and posting my own response later this holiday season. For now, post your own reponses, please.

~ by realsupergirl on April 7, 2004.

5 Responses to “Passover”

  1. “freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose.”

    I mean that. Freedom for me comes from the realization that in the final analysis, what you have to lose by not seizing your freedom doesn’t begin to come close to what you gain in that act.

    Likewise, you gain nothing from not acting on your freedom of choice.

  2. Freedom to me means intellectual freedom: the ability to say whatever I want to say, not without consequences, but with the knowledge that I’m on equal footing with anyone my speech might upset.

  3. (Okay, so I’m not a deep, creative thinker. But I’m still disappointed that you beat me to it.)

  4. i agree. (i suppose my personal definition of freedom also includes freedom to un-creatively glom onto someone else’s lj definition of freedom? 🙂

  5. Freedom for me is relief from fear and the ability to proceed in life as I would, unhampered, unfettered, unlimited and utterly joyful.

Leave a Reply

 
