Defining freedom

Well, Passover ends tonight, so I better get cracking on my definition, huh? Thanks so much to , , , , and for sharing your thoughts a week ago.

In many ways I have, like all Americans, more freedom than people throughout human history cold have even conceived of? Freedom to speak our minds, to picket the government or our employers? Unheard of throughout human history, and in many parts of the world today. Freedom to be openly, actively Jewish, in a country where the majority of the population is not? This is no less than revolutionary, given what my great-grandparents endured in their own lifetime.

But in many ways, I am not free, and I see certain freedoms in grave danger of being taken away: the freedom to choose to have a child, or to not have a child. The freedom to marry whoever I want, regardless of their gender. The freedom to perform whatever sex acts I want, with whoever I want. The freedom to get all the news about the world and my community, not just what the government and corportations want me to know.

And even more complicated, I see myself deliberately letting go of certainly freedoms, professionally and personally. To be in a relationship, to have a family, means to restrict yourself in certain ways, and this is a freedom I want to trade in for the big money prize, little by little. To be a professional means giving up certain freedoms in how I choose to express myself, and I have mixed feelings about this. But for now, it is one I choose to give up.

Well, there you have it. I’m not very good at short and concise.

~ by realsupergirl on April 13, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
