Why do I do this to myself?

As a friend said about his own journal, “no Laker fans allowed” in my journal today. I won’t be liable for what I might do if I find you here.

Last night’s Spurs-Lakers game just about killed me. I was an anxious mess the entire game. Literally. I was shaking. You can say, it’s just a game, blah blah blah, but it didn’t matter. I couldn’t shake the feeling.

Three shots by the Spurs were taken away by the referees for some bullshit reason or another. Is that a record for an NBA game, or what? It was ridiculous. Two of the shots the refs took away were by Devin Brown, who in one regular season game got fouled hard, and in Tim Duncan’s arguing with the ref on Devin’s behalf, the ref revealed they didn’t even know who Devin Brown was! There’s only ten people on the floor, guys, it’s not that hard. You can keep track of every scrub in a purple and yellow uniform O.K.

And then, the game goes to the Lakers on a shot with .4 seconds left. Ridiculous. It’s certainly enough to solidify my theories that the the NBA will do whatever possible to keep a small market team from winning the championship. The questions is, is it enough to keep me from doing this to myself again?

Doubtful.

~ by realsupergirl on May 14, 2004.

5 Responses to “Why do I do this to myself?”

  1. Three made shots that would have given the Spurs the lead and would have given them undeniable momentum in the fourth quarter got overturned.

  2. yup, yup. More fodder for the conspiracy theory…

  3. heh – so that was a championship game, huh? i was cursing that it was on while I was trying to eat some mexican food in the little cantina up the street. I did think of you, though, when I noticed it said SA in the corner, which I assumed was san antonio… which, in fact, it turned out to be! yay! people in houston were watching.
    sd

  4. were probably rooting for san antone, not just cause of the whole texan pride thing (you might have noticed it) but cause l.a. spanked houston in the last round of the playoffs.

Leave a Reply

 
