I’m such a pop culture whore

I. Movies: Ways Harry Potter: Prisoner of Azkaban is better than either of the first two movies:

  • This movie is not just a series of action sequences.
  • The new director actually takes his time letting things unfold and has some interesting cinematography
  • The casting of Emma Thompson as Professor Trelawney
  • The introduction of Remus Lupin, Rowling’s most interesting character.

II. TV: 24 is a really innovative and well done show, and it’s really interesting to go back and watch Season One having already seen Season Two and Season Three. But it sure doesn’t do much for my anxiety level.

III. Music: Top Ten Pop Songs of All Time (in no particular order):

  • “Billie Jean” (Michael Jackson)
  • “When Doves Cry” (Prince)
  • “Girl, You Have No Faith In Medicine” (The White Stripes)
  • “Disco Inferno” (Originally by The Trammps, the cover by Tina Turner is best)
  • “Vogue” (Madonna)
  • “I’m Free” (The Soup Dragons)
  • “Oh L’Amour” (Erasure)
  • “Tragedy” (The BeeGees)
  • “I Wanna Be Sedated” (The Ramones)
  • “I Want Your Sex” (George Micheal)
~ by realsupergirl on June 8, 2004.

8 Responses to “I’m such a pop culture whore”

  1. did you just call the ramones POP??!! I think you did. and shame on you. Joey is rolling over in his grave as we speak. And I’m one step closer to mine. 😉

    but tragedy? easily the best beegees song EVER. your list is very gen-x-ey. I’d probably have picked many of the same – bands/performers if not same songs.
    -sd

  2. oh the Ramones are too pop, and Joey knows it. They’re punk-pop, like The Offspring. I just can’t consider someone who sings “Sheena Wants to be a Punk Rocker” or “Beat on the Brat” to be punk…

  3. I think you need to add a caveat to I that it is a better movie IF YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK. As I was watching it part of my brain was asking the question “Would the boy enjoy it if he had come?” And I realized that the movie is basically a 2 hour summary of the books, and if you haven’t read the book if you DID understand what all was going on you wouldn’t get 1/10 of the subtle nuance involved. The best example I can think of is that you are never informed who Padfoot, Wormtail et al are. I even tried to explain this fact to the boy after watching the movie, and couldn’t convey it to him in a way that made sense without just handing him the book and makin him read the darn thing.

  4. Yes, this may be true. kaphine and I were wondering how the movie would be received to someone who hadn’t read the book (and listened to it several times on tape…)

    But still, I’ll take it. LOTR was a great trilogy as movies, but I know I missed a lot by not reading the books.

    So what do you make of the ending, anyway? I didn’t like how it ended. It was oddly abrupt, and he omitted how furious Cornelius Fudge was that Buckbeak and Sirius got away, which is important to setting up the later books…

  5. I liked about the ending what I liked about the whole movie… it was a quiet moment between Harry and Lupin, which really added a thoughtfulness to the movie that the others lacked (which I think is reflected in your comment that it’s not all action sequences).

    I disliked about the ending what I disliked about the whole movie, and it would have been so easy for them to make me dislike the whole movie with just one line, when Lupin is giving Harry the map, of who the 4 authors of the map are. It’s that relationship between Lupin/Black/Pettigrew/James Potter – and Snape by extension – that weaves through it all. The fact that they are animagi. Had Lupin simply mentioned that the four were the authors of the map I might have forgiven the movie its other foibles.

    I still enjoyed the movie immensely. Visually it was stunning, especially the way the dementors would effect people. The only complaint there is that they got the entry to Trelawny’s office completely wrong, but I’ll even chalk that up to artistic discretion and a limited amount of time to work with… the movie works without Sir Cadogan.

    I’m really curious how they’re going to handle the next books… the books keep getting faster, but they can’t really make the movies longer.

  6. the books keep getting faster, but they can’t really make the movies longer.

    faster? do you mean fatter?
    interesting note – the Prisoner of Azkaban was significantly longer than the first two books but the movie was shorter than either of the other two movies. Part of the reason is that the third movie omitted the terrible “disclosure scenes” found in both the first two books and the first two movies – you know, where “everything is revealed” even though was could put things together for ourselves.

    I’m heard that the fourth book is going to be two movies. I’m looking forward to seeing the Quidditch World Cup scenes and the Triwizard Tournement scenes immensely, as well as the final Return of Voldemort scene in the end of Book 4. It should be great. Book 4 is the best so far, IMHO.

  7. Yeah, FATTER. That’s what happens when you post in the middle of the night.

    I’m looking forward to the next movies as well!

  8. Yeah, we had an interesting experience in which my boy and I (both of us have read all the books) loved, loved, loved this one, and the other couple we went with (who have not read said books) hated it. They told us later that, had they been alone and not with us, they would have actually gotten up and left the theater about halfway through. My boy and I concluded that the other couple should read the bloody books, but they seemed to think that their utter disdain for the movie had nothing to do with the fact that they hadn’t read the books. I think they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

 
