I hate this country

After listening to Bush’s address last night, I have come to decide
that the problem with democracy is the stupidity of the people.

What if we made an intelligence test the requirement of being able to
run for office or vote? But it wouldn’t be a test of mathmatical
intelligence or even verbal abilities – it would be a test of abstract
reasoning and a person’s ability to grasp ambiguity. Because
these are the qualities most lacking in politicians and voters
alike. Hell, I don’t think Bush or his supporters even know what
the word ambiguity means, much less grasp the concept.

This country is going to hell, which is ironic, because that’s what all
the theocrats claim. But I say, the last thing Jesus would have wanted
would be intolerance legislated into our bedrooms, our classrooms, and
our workplaces. Jesus was a free-thinking, liberal Jew. Do
your goddamn history, guys.

I’ll stay in Massachusetts as long as it remains the only free state in the union, but I’m leaving if that changes. I am so sick of this country it’s unbelievable.

~ by realsupergirl on April 29, 2005.

7 Responses to “I hate this country”

  1. What if we made an intelligence test the requirement of being able to run for office or vote?

    That’s been the question for a while, and I always feel guilty for bringing it up. With all of its caveats, an aristocratic democracy is a tough sell, apparently. But I agree.

  2. Yeah, I know what you mean about feeling guilty.
    But you know, some of the people I know who are currently no allowed to vote (criminal record, for e.g.) are far brighter and would make much more intelligent decisions than most of the boneheads who vote for whoever their right wing pastor/Pope tells them too…

  3. On the part of the administration, I hesitate to attribute to stupidity what is most likely to be self-serving malice. Bush himself may be incapale of abstract thinging and comprehending ambiguity, but I suspect most of his crew can handle such concepts perfectly well. They just know that encouraging/allowing the general public to do so is against their self-interest.

  4. But who gets to write the intelligence test? And who determines what sort of “abstract reasoning” and “ablity to grasp ambiguity” is desirable? And how do you write that into a standardized test? And if it’s not a standardized test, who’s responsible for grading it?

    Personally, I’m glad that our country has progressed past Jim Crow.

    That doesn’t mean I’m pleased with our current administration, but I think if we start denying people the right to vote we aren’t moving in the right direction.

  5. Yes, yes, I know. I realize this isn’t a REAL solution, but it surely is tempting. Like anyone’s asking me for my solution, anyway.

  6. Wow, you’re even more cynical than I am…

  7. OK, 1 person = 1 vote is just the only thing you can sell… more importantly, I think what Hilary Clinton and others seem to have been pursuing is important for the States. One of the few good things about politics in the UK is that there’s a tradition of things like abortion being handled as “free votes” in parliament – i.e. non-party things – which is part of how the whole right wing marriage with fundamentalist christianity is barely in existence over here.

    That’s the problem with democracy – any kind of tribalism can screw it up. Weird that Africa and America have the same issue.

Leave a Reply

 
