Initial thoughts

When you left the car this morning
I was sniping about something or other
anxious about getting to work on time.
You were sleepy and grumpy
and probably a few other dwarves.
Moments later I was cursing at the stupid truck driver
who refused to drive more than 15 miles an hour
or move out of the way.
While I was in this fine form,
people were being blown up
in London, just a few stops up the Northern Line
from where I lived half a lifetime ago.
They say the death toll has reached 40, and it will probably
continue to rise. It would have happened
even if we had better morning
even if I was a better girlfriend today.
When terrorists attacked us
we were home together, supporting
each other. It’s lonely to be left
with only NPR and stupid truck drivers
when people are dying.

~ by realsupergirl on July 7, 2005.

6 Responses to “Initial thoughts”

  1. Beautiful.

  2. Thank you!

  3. You’re the coolest person I’ve ever dated. Wanna get married?

  4. OK, how’s August 21st for you? I’ve got some time that afternoon.

  5. I’m glad to see Sweetie and I aren’t the only engaged people who engage in this practice. 🙂

  6. It works pretty well after the parties are married, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
