Thoughts about “coming out”

Inspired by S.Bear Bergman’s fabulous performance of Clearly Marked last night, I’ve been thinking of new, alternative ways of identifying myself:

I came of age, and became sexually active, at the height of the AIDS crisis.
I am the daughter of both an oil refinery-town goy and a New York City Jew.
I have been a storyteller since I learned how to write.
I have been a poet since I first started getting crushes.
I am someone who exists too close to the margins to be perceived as an
outsider, but who exists too far from the margins to fit in.
I was usually picked last in P.E., but I was always better at sports than people expected.
My first crush on a girl came at the same time as fell in love with a boy.

~ by realsupergirl on October 12, 2005.

2 Responses to “Thoughts about “coming out””

  1. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    But I do have to say I think you fit in just fine with those of us who are fortunate enough to consider you a friend.

  2. Thank you…that’s why I feel so fortunate to have the group of friends I have…because in most other groups of people, I don’t fit in for one reason or the other.

Leave a Reply

 
