Time

I still feel dirt on my hands.
We buried my grandmother yesterday, and
while I was there I placed a stone
on my grandfather’s grave
beside hers. Today,
I thought I could still feel
the dirt that I placed on her coffin
in the palm of my hand.
Today, I got off the plane
and fell into tears
before picking myself up
and heading to work
for a few hours. Last night,
my uncle wanted to come with us
to my grandparents’ house,
because he wants to be everywhere
at once. His daughter and his wife
pleaded with him
to stay home
which was probably more for them
than for him,
but he stayed.
Last night, I took pictures
of the home of childhood vacations,
Last night, I took a jade lion
from my grandparents’ trip to China
that feels like a million years ago.
Today, I am raw
like a disconnected wire
apt to erupt in shock
at any minute.

~ by realsupergirl on November 16, 2005.

4 Responses to “Time”

  1. Thanks for sharing….it is a beautiful poem that brings a few tears to my eyes.

    I’ve been thinking of you and hope you and are family are weathering the loss ok.

  2. Wow. Beautiful.

  3. Thank you…

  4. Thank you sweetie…

Leave a Reply

 
