Review of Rent

Finally dragged Kaphine out to see the movie, despite her efforts to avoid things that make her vaclempt and ‘s generally negative review.

While I agree with much of the review, I still appreciated getting to see a production of Rent – it was too expensive to see when it first came out, and now it’s too late for me to see the real thing, since the original cast is no longer in it.

Everyone who hasn’t seen the original stage production or the movie should do so, just for Jesse Martin’s performance as Tom Collins. He brings the house down. He’s phenomenal. Also, Wilson Jermaine Heredia was wonderful as Angel.

I think the movie made good use of the medium of film in some ways, and did some nice things in staging that would not have been possible on stage. My three favorite songs (the title track, “Santa Fe”, and “La Vie Boheme”) were all done exceptionally well. Unlike , I actually liked the Roger-in-New Mexico montage.

The addition of Maureen and Joanne’s attempted commitment ceremony was just useless. If they had made it actually successful, it would not have rung true in Maureen’s character development. But they stuck with accuracy in character, and made the ceremony a somewhat amusing fiasco. So why put it in at all?

Overall, I say go see it, unless you were lucky enough to see the original Broadway production. It’s flawed, but it’s still strong. Not as good a film adaptation as Chicago or Fiddler on the Roof, but certainly as strong as West Side Story and A Chorus Line, which I think face similar challenges in the adaptation process.

~ by realsupergirl on December 12, 2005.

5 Responses to “Review of Rent”

  1. “Everyone who hasn’t seen the original stage production or the movie should do so, just for Jesse Martin’s performance as Tom Collins.”

    Despite my strong misgivings, I can get behind that statement.

  2. I think I’m in love with Jesse Martin, BTW. I always thought he was damn sexy on Law and Order, but seeing him in Rent had made me fall in love with him.

  3. You’re welcome to bring him home, sweetie.

  4. I had never seen the stage production, but I had heard the soundtrack about a thousand times when I was in college. From that perspective, I really loved the film. I especially loved Rosario Dawson. I think I wanna marry her.

  5. She’s a hottie. However, once you see the movie, I suspect you’ll feel torn. If Jesse Martin doesn’t do it for you, then the actress who plays Joanne will make you swoon.

Leave a Reply

 
