My other blog

Maybe people over here aren’t interested, but there’s a very angry post over in my other blog. It’s a little loney over there. It needs some comments.

Anyone who watched today’s Spurs game should know why I’m so angry. Bowen’s defense today against Nowitzki was spectacular. The fact that he was denied Defensive Player of the Year yet again is just more evidence of what has become abundently clear – the people who vote don’t actually watch basketball. They just read the stats.

Still, winning is more important than stupid awards. And Bowen knows it.

I’ve got to share a good Bruce Bowen story here.

My mom teaches at the University of Texas at San Antonio, where Bowen finished up his college degree recently. He was in the class of a colleague of my mother’s and he told her that he was going to have to miss class because he “had a game.” The professor, not realizing she was talking to a member of the starting lineup of by far San Antonio’s most popular professional sports teams, said “OK, but you have to get a note from your coach.”

Most professional athletes – remember, these are the guys who frequently think they’re above the law when it comes to drugs, sexual activity, and gun possession – at this point would say, um, I’m playing in TV. You can turn on yours to prove I really have a game. But Bowen doesn’t miss a beat, and says “OK” and returns the next class with a note from Gregg Popovich, award-winning coach of the three-time NBA championship Spurs.

~ by realsupergirl on May 7, 2006.

2 Responses to “My other blog”

  1. I would love to read your other blog, but it is all about basketball, a foriegn world to me…. I like your story here though, despite never having heard of either of the guys (player or coach) involved. Will you still speak to me?

    J

  2. Of course I will still talk to you…I will just also occassionally talk AT you, like I do to , because I’m obsessed and can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

 
