A poll for Jews and Jew-lovers

1. What’s your favorite Yiddish word and why?

2. How would you define “feh”? In trying to define it for Shelly, I wound up writing a small paragraph. But according to this site it simply means “disapproval or displeasure” and that really doesn’t quite cover this fantastic yiddish expression. (Can you guess which Yiddish word is my favorite?

~ by realsupergirl on June 20, 2006.

5 Responses to “A poll for Jews and Jew-lovers”

  1. 1. I can’t pick just one!

  2. Y’know, I had no idea that “feh” actually had any linguistic basis — I just thought it was a good generalized expression of disgust. It’s very onomatopoeic!

  3. I like “nebbish” and “shmutz.” They are fun to use to describe men and dirt respectively.

    To add to the definition of “feh” I’d say “An expression of disapproval or displeasure to reduce to utter ridicule.”

    “He won’t take her on a vacation after she worked her fingers to the bone for him for 25 years? Feh!”

    “George Bush? Feh!”

  4. Today, just for today, you understand, because I reserve the right to have another favorite Yiddish word tomorrow, I will say mensch. It’s a quintessentially Yiddish word, chock full of meaning beyond its literal meaning. There’s an ineffability about it. A mensch is a person with a certain je ne sais quois, if you know what I mean.

  5. Mensch definately is in my top 2!

Leave a Reply

 
