Labor Day Picnic


Whiffle ball?
Originally uploaded by realsupergirl.

We had our third “email all the people we know and like in Boston and ask them to hang out together” get together yesterday. I had originally come up with the idea of a picnic since it was Labor Day, and since our 4th floor walk-up apartment would likely be hot with 12 bodies squished inside. But by Saturday of this weekend, I was worried about the opposite – it was turning out to be cold and wet.

BUT (hee hee. I said “BUTT”) it turned out that Labor Day 2006 was a gorgeous day for a picnic in Cambridge Common. We talked, laughed, ate good food, and played the most uncompetitive versions of whiffleball and bocce I have ever played in my life. OK, so I’ve never played bocce before, but I’m pretty sure it’s usually more competitive.

It was great to see those of you who came – that list includes , , ,, , and a couple others who (gasp!) don’t have Livejournals…Hope to see the rest of you at our next one, which will likely be a housewarming party. Yay!!! I mean, eeeek. I mean, yay! Oy.

~ by realsupergirl on September 5, 2006.

5 Responses to “Labor Day Picnic”

  1. What, you don’t like Sweetie and I? 😦

    OH, I guess you meant just folks in Boston. πŸ˜‰

  2. Yes. We did not include you on the Evite cause we thought it might be a little far for you to make it…that, of course, is true about at least half my LJ friends list, as well.

    But you’re always welcome to come, any time. There doesn’t even have to be a picnic or pancake party planned. And soon, we’ll have an extra bedroom for people to stay in…and open invitation to all my loved ones out on the West Coast (and Hungary, )…

  3. Wahoo! πŸ™‚

  4. And a Best Western conveniently across the street! πŸ™‚

  5. It was fun, thanks for inviting us!

    (Also, I have a sizeable bruise on my leg from Simone’s bicycle…who knew that baskets were so dangerous?)

Leave a Reply

 
