Small things

When I go hiking, I often have my head down,
scouring the underbrush for mushrooms
and animals and plants.
When I am anxious
it often helps to focus on the details
because the big picture
is overwhelming.
Buying a house is too big, and
driving to New Hampshire and
trying to unlock the secrets of
“America’s Stonehenge”
as they call it –
that’s too big, as well.
Walking along under the trees
stopping to say hello to the baby alpaca
and notice a purple mushroom
I’ve never seen before
now that’s within my grasp.

~ by realsupergirl on September 18, 2006.

4 Responses to “Small things”

  1. I love it. It’s just what I needed to read, too.

    Just remember, if you can think about a mushroom, you can buy a house.

    Or something.

    *hugs*

  2. Thanks…

    I love mushrooms. I’m becoming somewhat obsessed with them. I wonder if we’ll get mushrooms in the wooded area outside our condo? Mmmmmm…

  3. Depending what kind you want, I know some people who can hook you up…

    Wait what?

  4. Hahahahaha. I love those kind of mushrooms. Haven’t done ’em for years, but I love them. They’re fuuuuuuuun. (Though they taste like ass, even cleverly disguised in tea)

Leave a Reply

 
