Back home

Kaphine is still out there. She is coming home on a red-eye flight tonight, arriving Tuesday morning. Oddly enough, this was her first choice, and she paid extra to change her flight to this ridiculous itinerary.

The visit ended better than it started. I saw an opening to ask whether I could go into her father’s room, she asked him if that would be OK, he said “sure.” He was as he has been for a week now: weak, frail, barely lucid. But he was more alert and more lucid than he had been in days, and he acknowledged it was good that I was there, because had wanted me there. I said I was glad for the opportunity to have known him, because I am. As hurtful and ridiculous all this meshugas has been, it would have been sadder if I had never known my spouse’s father at all. And then I said goodbye.

C, ‘s stepmother, took us aside and finally revealed the big secret. Apparently when we moved out to the East Coast, her father was disagreed with ‘s decision to go, and decided to spend the next 8 years resenting me over it. Um, OK. What are you going to say to that? It’s so ridiculous it’s laughable. But she assured me it was not personal, which even if it isn’t entirely true (who knows at this point?) is nice to here. And she apologized for the ugliness that transpired. The aunt who relayed the message hasn’t apologized, but it’s a lot better.

Meanwhile, ‘s grandmother, who like the rest of that side of the family completely ignored our wedding announcement and wedding plans, spontaneously told me she was glad that I was there this weekend.

I want to take a moment to acknowledge , , and Pumpkin. Oh, and Butternut, too. Y’all are amazing friends. I really appreciate you coming up on such short notice, and it was so good to see you.

~ by realsupergirl on April 9, 2007.

4 Responses to “Back home”

  1. Happy to be able to do it. I can understand why it would be hard on her dad to have her move across the country–not that you should be blamed. I am relieved to hear what the “big thing” was and hear that things are better in the family. Sounds like some peace has been made and that both you coming out to be there has changed your relationship to kaphine’s family. There is nothing like face to face contact–sometimes all we can do is be there, but it makes a big difference. (Well, that and make food. đŸ™‚ )

    Hugs!

  2. mmmm. food.

  3. Glad to have been able to go.

    And, may I say, you’re a braver woman than I for putting up with the family mishugas.

  4. What can I say? is worth it. Plus, it helps that we live 3,000 miles away from the mishugas…

Leave a Reply

 
