“Hedonists die young, and don’t own houses” –Juliet_abroad

You scored as Hedonism. Your life is guided by the principles of Hedonism: You believe that pleasure is a great, or the greatest, good; and you try to enjoy life’s pleasures as much as you can.

“Eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow we die!”

More info at Arocoun’s Wikipedia User Page…

Existentialism
85%
Hedonism
85%
Utilitarianism
60%
Justice (Fairness)
50%
Strong Egoism
40%
Divine Command
40%
Kantianism
20%
Apathy
15%
Nihilism
0%

What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)
created with QuizFarm.com

~ by realsupergirl on May 9, 2007.

6 Responses to ““Hedonists die young, and don’t own houses” –Juliet_abroad”

  1. How do I reconcile that with my homeownership, desire to live to a ripe old age, and some other long term stuff I keep meaning to work out?

    Hedonism90%Existentialism75%Justice (Fairness)70%Utilitarianism60%Strong Egoism35%Apathy30%Kantianism10%Nihilism5%Divine Command0%What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)created with QuizFarm.com

  2. Existentialism100%Hedonism85%Utilitarianism70%Justice (Fairness)60%Strong Egoism45%Kantianism30%Apathy25%Nihilism15%Divine Command10%What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)created with QuizFarm.com

    I’m not sure this would be an unbiased look at my life…the questions were quite leading.

  3. But I am surprised at everyone scoring so low on nihilism. You guys are fooling yourselves! Nothing has intrinisic value or purpose!
    That shit used to get me down, but then I heard the gospel of Nietzsche…

  4. I am sure there are things with purpose and meaning, just not much associated with humankind. Something is true/real (here I disagree with Nietzsche); it’s probably just not what I believe to be true and definitely not what most other people believe to be true. Besides, I have value (at least, to myself… which is enough for now).

  5. Well, it’s not to say that things don’t have value, just not intrinsic value-that value is an arbitrary human construct, not an absolute truth.

    Also, I should say I was being a bit sarcastic with my initial comment… I mean, I am a nihilist (more or less) but I wouldn’t really wish it on anybody else- if you have something you believe is absolutely true and believe in some real purpose to this existence, you’ll probably be happier sticking with that…

  6. No worries… I figured there was some degree of sarcasm in your comments. I am happy in my not believing in anything or having a purpose (usually), hence the hedonism (if one can define one’s own philosophy of life based on an internet based likert scale test, which I tend not to believe in…). It’s too early for this, no (pseudo) philosphy before 8 AM. Coffee first!

Leave a Reply

 
