Poem of the Day

Thought I had read all the best of Langston Hughes’ poems. Apparently I missed this one somehow. It was the most recent Poem of the Day, available for free on iTunes.

It applies as much to Harry Potter’s world (which is rapidly becoming a depiction of the horror of fascism) as it does to our own (which has been teetering on the edge of becoming something disturbingly close to fascism ever since You Know Who came into office).

Democracy
By Langston Hughes

Democracy will not come
Today, this year
Nor ever
Through compromise and fear.

I have as much right
As the other fellow has
To stand
On my two feet
And own the land.

I tire so of hearing people say,
Let things take their course.
Tomorrow is another day.
I do not need my freedom when I’m dead.
I cannot live on tomorrow’s bread.

Freedom
Is a strong seed
Planted
In a great need.

I live here, too.
I want freedom
Just as you.

~ by realsupergirl on July 22, 2007.

One Response to “Poem of the Day”

  1. I like that.

Leave a Reply

 
