Seriously?

Kevin Garnett? In Boston? Are you freaking kidding me?

I’m already fantasizing about a Spur-Celtics Finals match up in 2008. I’m beside myself.

~ by realsupergirl on August 1, 2007.

4 Responses to “Seriously?”

  1. Yesterday on my way home from work I walked by the Garden, and some TV reporters asked me if I was a Celtics fan. Unfortunately, I didn’t have your phone number. 😉

  2. Yesterday I wouldn’t have even been coherent to say as much as I just posted. I’m still reeling. I’m really sorry to see Al Jefferson go, but really, it’s a once and a lifetime opportunity for a sports franchise – you can’t turn down a player of Kevin Garnett’s caliber. It’d be like turning down Shaq or Kobe or Tim Duncan. So, even if this is a total flop, you have to try. It’s not like the Celtics could do much worse than last year. I think they’re going to be much better.

  3. Celtics are having the strangest off-season ever. They have three over the hill All-Stars (and one who is an all-time great) for a few years at a high cost. Mostly they give up Jefferson and the #5 pick. Everyone else looks like a scrub to me.

    And the crazy thing is they kept Rondo. By statitstical standards he’s impressive (which suggests he might have a lot of room to improve – Kevin Martin gave off the same vibe before last season).

    I don’t know that it will “work” becuase I am not sure they could win a Final against a top Western team, but man, talk about a quick turnaround.

  4. Ray Allen and Paul Pierce are fragile, to say the least, but over the hill they’re not. Paul is 29, Ray is 31, and KG is 30. Paul and Ray should fare better with less minutes and by not having to be the main scorers out there every night. KG is a beast, and he is in his prime.

    I agree the Celtics will not beat the Spurs, or for that matter the Mavs or the Suns, even with their three superstars. But they should be good enough to beat the Cavs, the Pistons, or the Heat, and hence get to the Finals.

    Rondo is interesting…I have never seen him play, but people said last year he was a steal for the Celtics. And apparently, he was the one player Kevin McHale tried really, really hard to pry away from Danny Ainge in the KG deal, but Ainge wouldn’t let him go. I think he’s gonna look a lot better next year, dishing out to KG, Ray Allen, and Paul Pierce. And for that matter, Kendrick Perkins, who has been a decent center, will also look a lot better next year, playing next to those guys.

    I’m bummed they had to give up Al Jefferson, because I really liked him. And I’m even more bummed they had to give up Delonte West, because I really liked him, too. But I think they absolutely made the right decision.

Leave a Reply

 
