Poll: What Should I Do With My Life?

So here I go, doing that blogger stereotype thing to do, asking people in cyberspace for advice about my life. Oh well.

 
I feel like I’m dangerously close to burnout. I’m sick of being needed and yet not feeling appreciated. I’m sick of the dealing with the bullshit healthcare system. I still love the people with whom I work, it’s just everything else around it that drives me nuts.

But the problem is, what else should do instead? Here are the ideas batting around in my head:

a) Start my own program.
b) Look for a different type of environment within my current agency (e.g. school-based work).
c) Go back to school and study religion, or Jewish pastoral counseling.
d) Go back to school and get a PhD or PsyD so I can teach.
e) Drop off the grid and run away and live in a van by the beach.
f) Refuse to subscribe to the system of “work, produce, consume”* and just write and paint, which would likely mean becoming homeless.
g) Other: __________________________

* From The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac 

 
Please vote only once, and mark your answers clearly with a number 2 pencil.

~ by realsupergirl on October 12, 2007.

13 Responses to “Poll: What Should I Do With My Life?”

  1. b) Look for a different type of environment within my current agency (e.g. school-based work).

    (The struck-through part is optional. If it’s a different environment within your agency, fine. Other jobs with other agencies might be worthwhile too. I’m hesitant to suggest going back to school unless you really know what you want to do and are pretty confident about it).

  2. Yes, but going back to school is always so APPEALING…I want to run away from the world.

  3. if i can visit you in your van by the beach, i’ll feed you really well when i visit…
    sdinco

  4. ignore it. just push it way deep down inside and hide it!
    That always works for me!

    😉

  5. Yes, I vote for this, as well.

  6. I vote for the van by the beach. who cares about professional development life could be over tomorrow…then again it might not be and you’d be stuck in a van by the beach…I like the pastoral counseling. You’ll be right with the big guy and be doing what you enjoy so much (minus the insurance companies!)

  7. Well, you could always become a professional Snatch or Scrabble player and I’m sure you’d be the world champion.

    But seriously – if ever you want help job searching let me know. I’m really good at it.

    Burn out is a very bad thing. Avoid it like the plague and mix it up before you get to that point. Have you looked on Idealist.org? They have tons of job listings.

  8. Well, you could always become a professional Snatch or Scrabble player and I’m sure you’d be the world champion.

    But seriously – if ever you want help job searching let me know. I’m really good at it.

    Burn out is a very bad thing. Avoid it like the plague and mix it up before you get to that point. Have you looked on Idealist.org? They have tons of job listings.

  9. First, take a vacation/retreat/sabbatical/etc. Even if it’s just for a long weekend. Get away from the source of stress and burnout for a little while. It should help keep you from making a rash decision.

    Second, after you get back if you’re still not feeling appreciated and in danger of burning out, talk to your boss about it. It’s their *job* to make sure their employees are feeling appreciated and don’t burn out. If they didn’t, they’d never be able to retain their staff.

    Third, while I’m all for continuing and lifelong education, don’t just use it as a place to run away from the world. Take a professionally-useful evening class or two at a time that you can turn into a PhD program, but don’t use it to play ostrich.

    Ditto for “e” and “f”. Those seem to me to be running away from the problem.

  10. I vote a or b… but the talking to your boss option suggested by the previous person would be first. I guess it boils down to whether you want a change IN what you’re doing or OF what you are doing. I think of is probably more productive because it is proactive and can lead to positive things, while changing place or career is superficial and won’t lead to substantive changes (trust me on this one).

  11. I vote a or b… but the talking to your boss option suggested by the previous person would be first. I guess it boils down to whether you want a change IN what you’re doing or OF what you are doing. I think of is probably more productive because it is proactive and can lead to positive things, while changing place or career is superficial and won’t lead to substantive changes (trust me on this one).

  12. But the world will still be there waiting when you’re done. I mean, I understand the impulse, but it’s not like the world changes for you when you’re done with school again.

    Says she who still can’t seem to finish her master’s degree. 🙂

  13. G)subsistence farming

Leave a Reply

 
