Random encounter

So, yesterday, I went out to get a diet Coke. I’m mostly off caffeine at this point, so I have to be feeling really draggy for me to get to this point. But I’m standing at the elevator, waiting to go up to the snack room, and this woman walks in the front door. And she looks at me. And I look at her. And we both do a double take.

Turns out, this woman was a friend of mine in high school in San Antonio, Texas. She once was a pretty close friend, but clearly we fell out of touch. And now here she is — working (perhaps not for long, it turns out) 1200 miles away from where we last saw each other, 16 years ago. What are the odds that we would have run into each other again?

Txladybug, you know her. Check your Facebook pics to see who she is. It’s all too weird. She’s coming over for dinner in a week and a half. She’s an interfaith minister, who used to be an actress, who used to be married, who works as an executive assistant for a job she’s not too crazy about. Last time I saw her she was my very capable stage manager for the production of Burn This that I directed. I suppose I’m probably pretty different from who I was in high school, too, so this shouldn’t really surprise me. But those changes all took place much more gradually for me.

~ by realsupergirl on October 24, 2007.

2 Responses to “Random encounter”

  1. how can you be an interfaith minister?

  2. By studying at the Andover Newton seminary, starting the process of ordination with the Episcopal church, and then becoming a minister courtesy of Sufi Muslims and some kooky Episcopal-Sufi mystics in Corpus Christi, TX.

    It’s a strange world.

Leave a Reply

 
