Oh. My. God.

Can you think of anything more exploitive than this: The Cherokee Youth Choir performing in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade?

It’s the great American way – we colonize, import our crappy values and merchandise, and rape native cultures of their own values. Yay!

Happy Thanksgiving Day, anyway! At least the National Dog Show is coming on soon…

~ by realsupergirl on November 22, 2007.

3 Responses to “Oh. My. God.”

  1. OW

    That just made my head explode and my brain hurt (not in tha torder)

  2. Exploitative? I disagree. It’s not like they went down to the reservation and press-ganged a bunch of kids to put up in a display case. I heartily agree with your “American way” statement, but I don’t think it’s necessarily appropriate to link the two. Those kids were there voluntarily – any kid would be thrilled to get a chance to perform for a national audience.

  3. I don’t think it’s exploitive of the kids, I think it’s exploitive of North American Indian culture. We rape and pillage other cultures, and then pimp it out when we think it will make us money. I wonder if any of the money that the Macy’s parade raised went toward the Cherokee nation?

Leave a Reply

 
