I’m a Musical Queen

Much to the chagrin of mi esposa, I’ve been listening to the music from Sweeney Todd almost nonstop since we went and saw a live production of it about a month ago.

I think I have concluded that these lines from the show capture my view of the world:

“For what’s the sound of the world out there?
Those crunching noises pervading the air!
It’s man devouring man, my dear!
Then who are we to deny it in here?”

and later…the essence of the whole show: “The history of the world, my sweet, is who is eaten and who gets to eat.”

Can I just say, OMG, Johnny Depp as Sweeney Todd in the movie version, directed by Tim Burton? Wow. Sexiest Sweeney Todd ever. Which is kind of disturbing. Cannibalism should *NOT* be that sexy.

~ by realsupergirl on December 6, 2007.

7 Responses to “I’m a Musical Queen”

  1. Which is kind of disturbing. Cannibalism should *NOT* be that sexy.

    I know! And yet… *shudders deliciously*

  2. i’m seriously shivering in anticipation…. my question: if you were tim burton, and you were lucky enough to have wooed the lovely helena bonham carter, would you consistently cast her opposite the most sexy man ever? i’m not sure i would. but i thank him, endlessly, and seriously hope he decides to do a dirty skin flick soon… MEOW!

    Um, and this is just a bonus because it came up in my search for helena pix. what a… dress. well, there goes productivity for the day….

    sdinco

  3. Oh baby, I’d take Hilary Swank over Helena any day. But Johnny could give ’em both a run for the money. Although, Brad Pitt still holds the distinction of being the only actor who ever made me actually gasp out loud when I saw him on screen for the first time…

  4. I like musicals. I like Stephen Sondheim. I like films. Even so, I wasn’t planning to go see Sweeney Todd ~ but miss Johnny Depp as the demon barber of Fleet Street? Not on your life!

    “City on Fire!
    Rats in the grass
    And the lunatics yelling in the streets!
    It’s the end of the world! Yes!”

  5. Indeed!

  6. If you like “Sweeney Todd”, you ought to also check out “Shockheaded Peter”, which is the only musical ever made that I like better than Sweeney.

  7. Based on what I read here it sounds really fabulous. But I have never heard of it! I will have to keep an eye open for it.

Leave a Reply

 
