On the Democratic candidates

I like Edwards more and more, because of his efforts to take on the corporate control of our political system. And I find him the post persuasive speaker I’ve heard since Bill Clinton, and I’ve thought that since seeing him in the vice presidential debate in 2004. But I want to vote for one of the other three, because I’m sick of having a white man in office.

Obama is not nearly as charismatic when it’s an open discussion style.

Richardson is actually a very persuasive speaker, but he constantly looks stiff and I think his statements about Iraq sound more like grandstanding than an actual thought-out plan.

I don’t have faith in any of the candidates to protect my marriage from being declared unconstitutional, which would make me a second class citizen.

~ by realsupergirl on January 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “On the Democratic candidates”

  1. After a while, I just wanted to tell Richardson to shut up and go away.

    I suspect your assessment of all the candidates in regards to marriage rights is correct, I’m afraid. 😦

  2. From lesbianlife.about.com:

    Barack Obama and Gay Rights in Illinois: Barack Obama supported gay rights during his Illinois Senate tenure. He sponsored legislation in Illinois that would ban discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation.

    Remember — it doesn’t become a campaign issue until the Republicans want to be divisive.

  3. Oh, I don’t know how reliable this is, but it sheds some more light:

    http://after-words.org/grim/mtarchives/2004/09/Sep242301.shtml

    Not spectacular, but better than Romney or Huckabee would be, and frankly, one of the big missteps of the Clinton presidency was to start with trying to get the military to accept gays and lesbians rather than to start with some basic hate crime protections, since I think more people would be okay with trying to prevent more Matthew Sheppard-style deaths than with trying to get the military on board. Just a hunch I have.

  4. Just thought I’d point out, Richardson has been a strong, long-time advocate for the LGBT community in both legislative and executive positions. You can read more here: http://www.richardsonforpresident.com/issues/lgbt

    It’s a shame the guy doesn’t have a snowball’s chance in hell to win.

    I agree, among the top three, I lean toward Edwards because he’s the only one who’s not conciliatory toward the Republicans. My problem with him is his inexperience and initial support for the war. I know he’s expressed regret and claims it’s part of his learning curve, but look at the cost.

    When it comes to tiring of white men in office, I’m sypathetic to that. But remember Dr. King’s dream that we’d no longer judge folks by the color of their skin, but the content of their character. In that spirit, I try not to assign points or penalize anyone (even white guys) on the basis of their race or gender. That’s not supposed to sound preachy, just means I have no hang-ups supporting Edwards over the others because he’s a boy WASP.

Leave a Reply

 
