I may never post about anything but politics again

I find it interesting that despite the lengthy debate on my post yesterday, in which I seem to have become unwittingly the defense attorney for Clinton, I am becoming more and more convinced that Obama is the most electable candidate the progressives have.

Michael sent me this link, a blog post by a conservative reporter who makes the analogy of Obama and Democrats and Reagan and Republicans. It’s an analogy with some merit. Obama has the rhetoric and the charisma to unify a lot of people on the left, in the same way that Reagan did for the Republicans, in a way they’ve been searching for ever since.

~ by realsupergirl on January 28, 2008.

9 Responses to “I may never post about anything but politics again”

  1. That last post went crazy. How the heck did I avoid being collateral damage? Man, I feel lucky.

    Yay Obama.

    I actually think his rhetoric is being widely misinterpreted on the left. Some thing it translates as a lack of fire. Instead I think it is exactly as Michael says – selling progressivism as patriotic, American and positive.

    I think some of it is we’re so used to the Bob Shrum style progressivism centered around division (rich v. poor). Part of the problem is that the entire construct is a) dishonest (there are a lot of rich people who are on the side of angels, and yes, even some responsible corporations) and b) an 0-8 loser in Presidential elections.

    And yet many Democrats are so used to hearing anger instead of hope that they don’t know what to do with it, and underestimate how powerful a message it can be.

  2. Oh my, that conversation got intense!

    Politics sure make for interesting conversation.

  3. A variety of black, female authors have written that they felt their gender was a much greater barrier than their race, and hearing a variety of dickwads self-described “conservatives” speak about this over the past week or two, I would have to say I agree. I thought the race thing would be bigger than it is, but apparently white dickheads like to think they are not racist but it does not even occur to them that they are misogynistic.

    For reasons I cannot comprehend (and fifteen years of hammering by the right-wing noise machine) there is a *lot* of deep antipathy to Senator Clinton. Misogyny is thicker than klan robes, apparently.

  4. For reasons I cannot comprehend (and fifteen years of hammering by the right-wing noise machine) there is a *lot* of deep antipathy to Senator Clinton. Misogyny is thicker than klan robes, apparently.

    I think it is a very particular set of grievance by the right, most unfair, but pretty comprehensible. 1) By staying with Bill she saved his campaign in 1992 (Gennifer Flowers) and 1998 (Monica Lewinski) 2) the right believes that by doing so she was betraying feminist ideals, making her a hypocrite (exacerbated by the Tammy Wynette comment) (obviously this is just as unfair as the other reasons) 3) she was the face of universal health care which is a great fear of the right (I can’t find the quote but Grover Norquist, he of the drowning government in a bathtub fame, said that Republicans can never surrender on universal health care because people would like it) and 4) the ‘cookies and tea’ comment (the rights freakout over this one is effectively parodied here).

    But, it is pretty misogynistic.

  5. Make no mistake: shutting women down and keeping them from having a real conversation about sexism in politics was what Mr. Anonymous (who I think I remember from your wedding) was all about. Don’t let yourself be shushed: it’s your fucking journal. Blog about whatever you want– with the comments turned off if necessary.

    Media and voter misogyny make me determined to vote for Hillary in the primary now that Dennis Kucinich, the only candidate with acceptable positions on queer marriage and Iraq, has dropped out. My antipathy for Senator Clinton’s corporate ties and viewpoint are no match for the antipathy I have for all the people who criticize Senator Clinton for attributes they wouldn’t dream of criticizing in any man who has run for or held office. I’m voting for Hillary because I want the shit-stirrers to see that their methods are back-firing–and make them stop stirring the shit.

    I really wonder if the Fuck-U-Media vote is what pushed her over the edge in New Hampshire. Maybe when women voters (who decide every election and primary: they’re the majority) saw that the media latched onto her misty eyes as a sign of weakness in the way that they didn’t with say, Mitt Romney, they all remembered every double standard they’ve had to put up with and got fed up. I do wonder how many other women will be casting the big FUM vote on February 5th.

  6. Those are some pretty brash, and inaccurate claims to be making about someone you “think you remember from [RSG’s] wedding.” Not every white male on the planet is the enemy, and I’m not just saying that because I’m married to the guy you’re attacking.

  7. I know everything I need to know from your husband’s actions. He hijacked a conversation about sexism from the women who were having it. If I came upon a discussion about racism between African-Americans I would hope I would have the good sense to not then dominate that conversation with proclamations that I am NOT RACIST –no matter what they might have to say about the topic.

    And I’m pretty sick of the double-teaming here. If you notice neither Kaphine nor my partner have swooped in to defend either Realsupergirl or me on any of the threads, because our partners realize we are adults who are more than capable of handling a mild disagreement online or off without interference. That your husband felt the need to speak for you in a conversation about sexism(!) tells me all I need to know about your relationship.

    And your comment about my thinking your husband is “the enemy” just because he’s a white guy tells me all I need to know about you. Your husband made a similar (also completely unwarranted) comment. No matter how liberal you think you are or how many queer weddings you attend the inner lesbophobia of both of you have come shining through in these digs. I would say that both of you should be ashamed of yourselves if I thought either of you were capable of shame.

    I don’t wish to receive any more of this nonsense in my inbox, so please DO NOT reply. Please respect my wishes. Go shout at someone else about how NOT SEXIST you or your husband are.

  8. I know everything I need to know from your husband’s actions. He hijacked a conversation about sexism from the women who were having it. If I came upon a discussion about racism between African-Americans I would hope I would have the good sense to not then dominate that conversation with proclamations that I am NOT RACIST –no matter what they might have to say about the topic.

    And I’m pretty sick of the double-teaming here. If you notice neither Kaphine nor my partner have swooped in to defend either Realsupergirl or me on any of the threads, because our partners realize we are adults who are more than capable of handling a mild disagreement online or off without interference. That your husband felt the need to speak for you in a conversation about sexism(!) tells me all I need to know about your relationship.

    And your comment about my thinking your husband is “the enemy” just because he’s a white guy tells me all I need to know about you. Your husband made a similar (also completely unwarranted) comment. No matter how liberal you think you are or how many queer weddings you attend the inner lesbophobia of both of you have come shining through in these digs. I would say that both of you should be ashamed of yourselves if I thought either of you were capable of shame.

    I don’t wish to receive any more of this nonsense in my inbox, so please DO NOT reply. Please respect my wishes. Go shout at someone else about how NOT SEXIST you or your husband are.

  9. Obama is a visionary. He rallies people and he has charisma. I like Edwards, too and it’s a hard decision for me (bc og gay marriage stuff) But overall, I think Obama will make the job of president a noble position again.

Leave a Reply

 
