Help me make my mix CD!

Here’s what I have so far for my Genderqueer Mix. I’ve decided we’re going to Baltimore for my birthday this year, and I’m going to do the John Waters tour of Baltimore. So naturally, I need a genderqueer mix.

Lola – The Kinks
Dude (Looks Like a Lady) –
Are you a Boy or a Girl – Imperial Drag
Laid – James
Raspberry Swirl – Tori Amos
Queen Elvis – Robyn Hitchcock
Walk on the Wild Side – Lou Reed
Supermodel – RuPaul
Ladylike – Storm Large & The Balls
I Am What I Am – La Cage Aux Folles
The Origin of Love – Hedwig and the Angry Inch

What am I missing? I know I’m missing good songs!

~ by realsupergirl on February 15, 2008.

33 Responses to “Help me make my mix CD!”

  1. Um, how about “Androgynous” by The Replacements? (=

  2. Oh, good one. Knew I was forgetting some obvious ones!

  3. “Driving a Truck with My High-heels On” by Weird Al Yankovic

    …and while its not exactly the same theme, (but is an awesome dance song)

    “Dancing in the Lesbian Bar” Jonathan Richman

  4. the killers’ somebody told me?
    -sdinco

  5. Awesome – never heard of either. I’ll check ’em out.

  6. Is “Somebody Told Me” the title of the song?

  7. Also (duh!) “I Kissed a Girl” by Jill Sobule, most stuff by Rufus Wainright, and there’s a new wave/disco kind of song going through my head, something like “girls who are boys, loving boys who are girls, always to meet someone you really love” or some damn thing…I don’t know…I have sleep issues…I’m just trying to help…

    ,,,,muttergrumblemutterdamnkidstodaywiththeirmusicandgenderblenderingmuttergrumble…..

  8. well, see, i was excluding stuff about same-sex relationships, and focusing just on music about genderbenders…i feel like including “Supermodel” by RuPaul is sort of marginal, since the song itself if not really about genderbending, RuPaul is just a genderbender hirself. Which, if I’m gonna go down that road, opens up the door to some Boy George, David Bowie, Annie Lennox…hmmm.

  9. “When I was a Boy” by Dar Williams

  10. You should ALWAYS open the door to David Bowie & Annie Lennox…Boy too, as long as he checks his mascara at the door…

    Still, it sounds like you will have one cool mix when you’re done…if you mail me a copy I will send you a mix cd back…you’re choice of theme (if I’m able)

  11. You should ALWAYS open the door to David Bowie & Annie Lennox…Boy too, as long as he checks his mascara at the door…

    Still, it sounds like you will have one cool mix when you’re done…if you mail me a copy I will send you a mix cd back…you’re choice of theme (if I’m able)

  12. I will totally mail you a copy!! I just need your address. email me at realsupergirl at gmail dot com and give me your address.

    anyone else, if you want a copy, let me know…

  13. Good one! Thanks!

  14. Good one! Thanks!

  15. …and speaking of David Bowie, totally just reminded me of ‘Rebel Rebel’ – can’t believe I forgot that one.

  16. “Jean Genie” maybe?

    It’s only one verse, but Lou reed’s “Walk On the Wild Side” as well?

  17. Damn, I wish I was your lover by Sophie B Hawkins. It was the song that made everyone go, “Is she or isn’t she?”

  18. Blur’s Boys & Girls is the song you’re thinking of. I was just on my way to recommending it.

  19. Blur’s Boys & Girls is the song you’re thinking of. I was just on my way to recommending it.

  20. There’s a mashup of ZZ Top’s “Every Girl Is Crazy About A Sharp Dressed man” mixed with Rupaul’s “Supermodel”. I think “Every Girl Is Crazy About A Sharp Dressed Supermodel” should fit, eh?

  21. Not suprisingly, the iTunes store doesn’t carry it. Do you happen to have a copy of it?

  22. I do so happen to.

  23. and what about Dire Straits “Les Boys”…?

  24. and what about Dire Straits “Les Boys”…?

  25. yep. the chorus:
    Well somebody told me
    You had a boyfriend
    Who looked like a girlfriend
    That I had in February of last year
    It’s not confidential
    I’ve got potential

    and i think that the lead singer is queer, to boot, though that’s not necessarily the point.

  26. Can you send it to me in an email? Or throw it on a disc and pop it in the mail?

  27. Can you send it to me in an email? Or throw it on a disc and pop it in the mail?

  28. Oh, and half of the soundtrack to Hedwig and the Angry Inch. (=

    There’s also a song by Two Nice Girls(?), the chorus of which goes:

    I spent my last ten dollars on birth control… and beer
    My life was so much simpler when I was sober… and queer
    But the love of a strong hairy man has turned my head, I fear
    And made me spend my last ten bucks on birth control and beer

  29. That’s a great song…though not quite right for this mix, I think…

  30. That’s a great song…though not quite right for this mix, I think…

  31. Jet Boy, Jet Girl by the Damned?

  32. Hmmm, never heard of it and it’s not in the iTunes store. Wanna send it to me?

  33. for the love of god, not “Dude (Looks like a Lady)”

Leave a Reply

 
