“It was like a virtual Reed college LSD trip. Without the coming down.”

Actual exchange between me and the divine Ms D on Gmail today…

Her: hilarious.
http://screencast.com/t/Q9qusQILSbr
Me: um…
Her: It’s the sev! THE sev.
i was just playing around on google maps street view. 🙂
Me: I know it’s the sev…i just can’t figure out why you’re googling the sev…you freak. first time i tripped on acid i spent a long time standing in front of the sev eating ben and jerry’s.
Her: i didn’t google it, per se. I started out at the front lawn, along woodstock, and took a virtual stroll by the rhodo gardens (where i spent a LOT of time on LSD), and ended up at the sev. it was sort of like a virtual reed college lsd trip. without the coming down.

~ by realsupergirl on February 19, 2008.

8 Responses to ““It was like a virtual Reed college LSD trip. Without the coming down.””

  1. I wish I could place Ms D, I was thinking about going on a walk around that neighborhood soon though, I should try to do it when Google is taking new pictures, I just need a spy inside Google and then I can hold up a sign saying “LSD” on the right day and make Sev legendary.

  2. Wow, your first acid trip sounds so normal. I spent the first couple of hours of mine standing in a field in front of an electricity pylon, ordering it to do things, which it was, in fact, doing. “Step to the left!” “Step to the right!” “Now bend backward!” My friend Cecelia was with me and she could also see that the pylon was doing what I told it to do, which gave her no end of joy. She would say, “tell it to moonwalk! Oh my god that’s great! How come it never listened before? All those years it could have been moonwalking!”

    We didn’t experiment with food until much later in the evening, when I opened a can of pork-and-beans for the sole purpose of setting the beans free, one by one. I’d place a bean (sauce and all) on the kitchen floor, and it would run away. In the morning I had to clean up an entire can of beans that we had spread all over the floor.

  3. Well, that was only PART of my first LSD trip. There was also the part where we were hanging out on the rugby field till we became convinced there were spiders in the grass, playing pool (which consisted of hitting the balls and watching the tracers), tossing jello on the wall to watch it fall, and hanging out in Sisson dorm talking to Sara Gilbert about what tripping was like, because her first trip had been when she was 13 and wasn’t a good experience.

    Oh, and wandering around Safeway for hours and hours. One of my companions also spent a lot of time speaking Thai, and after everyone else went to bed I attempted to make Ramen, since I hadn’t eaten in like 12 hours, but that proved to be, um, an adventure.

  4. the safeway on acid was always SO hard. the lights. the people. the noise. the choices. sometimes i think there should have been a fence around reed (including rugby field, sev, fruit stand, rhodo garden, and snaking to include the lutz – or maybe just a secret tunnel there). to keep us in, of course. not to keep them out.

  5. the safeway on acid was always SO hard. the lights. the people. the noise. the choices. sometimes i think there should have been a fence around reed (including rugby field, sev, fruit stand, rhodo garden, and snaking to include the lutz – or maybe just a secret tunnel there). to keep us in, of course. not to keep them out.
    sd in co

  6. And I seem to remember you being ballsy enough to go tripping through the streets of downtown Portland at one point…I was too scared to venture that far off of Reed’s protective campus.

  7. next time I’m tripping with you!

  8. speaking of tripping in the city- i couldn’t make it long in the subway!

Leave a Reply

“It was like a virtual Reed college LSD trip. Without the coming down.”

Actual exchange between me and the divine Ms D on Gmail today…

Her: hilarious.
http://screencast.com/t/Q9qusQILSbr
Me: um…
Her: It’s the sev! THE sev.
i was just playing around on google maps street view. 🙂
Me: I know it’s the sev…i just can’t figure out why you’re googling the sev…you freak. first time i tripped on acid i spent a long time standing in front of the sev eating ben and jerry’s.
Her: i didn’t google it, per se. I started out at the front lawn, along woodstock, and took a virtual stroll by the rhodo gardens (where i spent a LOT of time on LSD), and ended up at the sev. it was sort of like a virtual reed college lsd trip. without the coming down.

~ by realsupergirl on February 19, 2008.

3 Responses to ““It was like a virtual Reed college LSD trip. Without the coming down.””

  1. Well, Ms D is on my Facebook page. She’s the one I dreamed about recently, and the one who attacked my zombie recently, if that helps you find her any easier.

  2. the safeway on acid was always SO hard. the lights. the people. the noise. the choices. sometimes i think there should have been a fence around reed (including rugby field, sev, fruit stand, rhodo garden, and snaking to include the lutz – or maybe just a secret tunnel there). to keep us in, of course. not to keep them out.
    sd in co

  3. oh my yes! regularly! i remember once being confronted by a cop in pioneer square who asked me what in god’s name i’d been eating. I about lost it, but my trip mate casually indicated, out of the cop’s sight, that my tongue was insanely nuclear green. I murmured, truthfully, but unsure if it’s what he was talking about, “a green apple candy stick?” he laughed, and said that explained it. on the way home that day i encountered my first decorative cabbage, and collapsed in laughter in front of some well-landscaped house. hilarious.

    sdinco, at the airport, heading to pdx for the first time since 1996.

Leave a Reply

 
