In case you didn’t know how poets think

When a poet posts a poem, and no one comments, here’s what s/he thinks: I am a terrible poet. I should never write poetry again. I should go and burn every poetry book I have ever written, to save myself from the embarrassment of ever having it found.

Or something like that. We’re very insecure creatures. If said poet is also a Pisces – oy. You haven’t seen such insecurity.

Which is to say, I posted two poems and would love any feedback on them. Because even critical feedback (other than just, “this sucks”) would be better than silence. Because I can read all sorts of things into silence, but at least with criticism or questions I feel like my existence is validated. Questions are also OK. Your honest impressions and thoughts are what I want.

Thank you. This has been a Public Service Announcement.

~ by realsupergirl on May 31, 2008.

One Response to “In case you didn’t know how poets think”

  1. Sometimes I read and don’t say anything… I’ll try to be a better commenter… And at others I don’t get to the posts in time because they get buried in the other posts. And at yet other times, I am doing LiveJournal at work and try to keep it short (my computer is dying!). Love you girl! You need to write a Pisces user guide. It might help me with my father.

Leave a Reply

 
