The move is inevitable now…

The only question now is where and when.

Because more and more evidence is mounting that LJ is becoming a police state – the latest involves a user being threatened with suspension for soliciting illegal activity in a private, friends-only post or being censured for mocking the person who won the recent LJ election – I am moving this journal.

I set up an account at WordPress, but I’m having trouble with it. It will only let me import one month at a time, and it doesn’t import comments or tags. Is there any blogging software that does a better job with this?

Blogger is annoying – I have a Blogger blog (dubrows.blogspot.com) but I hate the feel of the software over there.

Anyone have any recommendations?

~ by realsupergirl on June 6, 2008.

7 Responses to “The move is inevitable now…”

  1. Can you point us to news about the LJ incidents you speak of?

  2. the import problem you’re having with WordPress is not a WP problem, it’s an LJ problem. Apparently, in an effort to dissuade you from moving, LJ has set up their exporter so you can only export one month at a time. (see this at WP’s codex: http://codex.wordpress.org/Importing_Content#LiveJournal.)

    Apparently, there’s a work around. Read this: http://www.inmostlight.org/2005/12/migrating-from-livejournal-to-wordpress

    (that post is a few years old, though, and both LJ and WP have been updated a lot, so no guarantees, but my guess is either the client that fixes the problem still works, or someone has updated it.)

    If you want any help with this stuff, you just let me know. the geek in me luvs to play with new toys.

    I’m a huge fan of WP, and strongly recommend it. that’s what I’m on and have been for years, since leaving blogger – which is uber bland. I’d be more than happy to help you set up your WP stuff – either at your own domain, or at wordpress.com.

    toodles

    -sdinco

  3. Heard about it from Jess, who was one of the people directly affected. Check out her blog.

  4. Well, I went to the website, and you have to install a new framework, which only works for PCs. I tried doing it on my work computer, but it’s set up to only allow network administrators to download new files. Grrr.

    I really like WordPress other than this, but if I’m gonna move my journal, I really want to be able to move all my entries and comments.

    Any other suggestions???

  5. well, like i said, this has nothing to do with wordpress. you’ll hit the same snag no matter where you want to move, apparently. it’s the way LJ itself is set up to export. but i’ll email you, see if we can get you moved.
    -sdinco

  6. And…. you’re set! f* I love WP! and the open source community at large. suhweeeeeeeeet!

  7. nice blog,I will keep in reading .please visit the place: I’ve got to tell you about the HOTTEST new home business opportunity that is blazing across the net like wildfire. EVERYONE is joining this one… and for good reason!
    http://lawnchairmillonaire.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
