Mass Action in 2010

Apparently, the U.S. Census Bureau has decided to falsify data and not count the thousands or millions (we’ll never know now) of same-sex married couples who indicated their marital status on the last Census.  Which, as the above link indicates, is a fundamentally political decision.

So, fine, whatever. I really don’t care too much whether the Census Bureau knows I exist or not, and in fact I find the whole idea kind of creepy.  As someone who belongs to an ethnic group that was once required to register with the government so the government could eventually use that information to put us into ghettos and then into death camps, well, I’m not so trusting of what a government might do with that information in 20 or 30 years anyway.

But if they’re going to falsify the data we submit, I say we start a mass action in 2010 and all write “FUCK YOU” across our Census form, and mail it back to the office schlubs in the Census office that way.  It would be a powerful counter statement, and might gain some media attention. What do people think?  Because essentially, that’s what the Census Bureau is saying to us.

~ by realsupergirl on July 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “Mass Action in 2010”

  1. Hopefully by 2010, the issue of same-sex marriage will finally be resolved and it won’t be an issue. I really wish the US would wake up and realize it’s the 21st century and understand that the 1st Amendment allows such unions.

  2. I would like to agree with qiranger above, but am not sure I am that hopeful. As with any activism, I think there are some important questions. My first thought is that it would be kind of funny, but I also feel sorry for those “office schlubs” who have to open lots of forms that say “FUCK YOU.” I think your anger isn’t directed at them. However, maybe it would be worth it if it could garner some media attention? Something public seems worthwhile to me…

Leave a Reply

 
