Save the cheerleader, save the world

Ugh, I think I have another television obsession.  Damn it. This is why I hate television.

My new obsession is Heroes.  I am finding myself increasingly fascinating by the premise — this moral questions about what to do with people with special powers.  Are they to be feared? Should we be defending ourselves against them? Should we be trying to use their powers to help us? Should we be encouraging them to explore their powers? What drives one person to use their power to help people, and another to kill people or otherwise hurt them?

My favorite character is Micah.  I hope he becomes a character of more and more importance as the series progresses and he grows up.  Perhaps because he’s young, it’s easiest to see the moral struggle in his choices.  He uses his power to help his family, to help grown ups win elections, to help people get free Pay Per View.  He vascillates between taking his abilities for granted and showing genuine torment over how to best use his abilities or not use them, depending on who it will hurt or help.

~ by realsupergirl on July 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “Save the cheerleader, save the world”

  1. I was definitely hooked on the first season of Heroes. I really liked the idea of regular flawed people being shoved into a superhero’s role.

    The first few episodes of the second season didn’t grab me like the first season. With the interruption of the writers’ strike I never got back around to watching it again. I’ll probably pick it up when it’s available on Netflix.

  2. Just finished watching Season 2 on the internet. I’m totally hooked. Can’t wait for Season 3. The moral complexity gets more complex…

Leave a Reply

 
