Top 6 Obscure Movies

I know I tend to like movies other people have never seen. So, here I go listing the top six movies that you have probably never seen, but which you really should make a point to see:

1. Sammy and Rosie Get Laid [1987] – This British movie is a fantastic look at the politics of race, sex, and gender. The screenwriter Hanif Kureishi is also one my favorite authors, but probably no one has ever read him, either.

2. Leaving Normal [1992] – This movie came out around the time Thelma and Louise did, so it suffered from appearing to be just another girl-buddy movie. But it isn’t. It’s a fantastic movie about accepting your own choices, and having the courage to live your life however makes you happy, even if it’s unconventional.

3. Law of Desire [1987] – Pedro Almodovar has made a lot of movies, and I love almost all of them, but I have a real fondness for this one, his first, and his most gay.

4. Days of Heaven [1978] – Terrence Malick doesn’t make many movies, which is never good for marketing. This film is beautiful, haunting, and eloquent.

5. The Opposite of Sex [1998] – Was this movie popular at all when it came out? I can’t remember. All I know is, I recently re-watched it and it might be the best movie about relationships ever made.

6. Beautiful Girls [1996]- I don’t really understand why this movie wasn’t more popular. Maybe it was the slightly offbeat look at a familiar topic – getting older, coming home, settling down. But it is a great movie.

~ by realsupergirl on August 12, 2008.

2 Responses to “Top 6 Obscure Movies”

  1. If you haven’t already you should see Intimacy which was also written by Kureishi and features in the leads two of the best actors in the English-speaking world (Mark Rylance, who was in Angels and Insects and Kerry Fox who was the lead in An Angel at My Table one of my favorite movies and the only one directed by Jane Campion that I really like). You’ve probably already seen My Beautiful Laundrette also written by Kureishi which features an Anglo/South Asian queer love story and stars a very young Daniel Day Lewis.

    I also really love Days of Heaven as well as Law of Desire which wasn’t Almodovar’s first movie but was the first one to get a lot of attention from American critics.

  2. Loved My Beautiful Launderette, and the novella Intimacy was amazing. I’ve got to check out the movie adaptation.

Leave a Reply

 
