Obama and Rick Warren

If I were to get my way, this country would suddenly grant equal access to marriage rights and full civil rights protections to glbt people.  If I were to get my way, abortion would be safe, legal, and rare because sex education would be taught well and often in every school.  If I were to get my way, there would be no more debate about whether evolution should be taught in science class and the ridiculous crock of shit known as ‘intelligent design’ would be eliminated from our vocabularies.  If I had my way people would have the freedom to express their religious beliefs in private, but would be unable to impose their beliefs on the political process and public sphere.
 
The problem is, if I had my way, what do you do with all the evangelical wackjobs in this country who disagree with everything I just wrote?  Is there a place for them in this country, too?  Doesn’t the very foundation of our country insist that there be?  

Perhaps I am being overly idealistic, but I think this is why Obama selected Rick Warren to lead the convocation at his inauguration.  Because unless we are going to split apart into several smaller countries, we have to find a way to integrate the large groups of people who disagree on some fundamental core beliefs.  Integrate meaning learn to live with one another – not integrate as in give in to their policy ideas.   And you notice, Obama didn’t select Warren for a political office in his administration – he selected him to lead a prayer.  It’s a symbolic gesture, and one that Obama and Warren are simultaneously being criticized for by people on their left and right, respectively.  

Now, a separate question entirely is one my beloved raised earlier this evening:  Should we really be having a prayer at inauguration at all?  Is this not a violation of church and state?  I’m not sure how I feel about that.  But I understand Obama’s decision to select Warren, and I see it as consistent with the hope and unity he has been calling for throughout his whole campaign.

~ by realsupergirl on December 19, 2008.

One Response to “Obama and Rick Warren”

  1. I agree with you.

    In fact, I’ve defended the pick on those grounds.

    (I feel less alone).

Leave a Reply

 
