25 Things About Me

1. I wear contact lenses
2. I have had to wear glasses since the fourth grade, and it really annoys me when people who don’t need glasses tell me how “cute” I look in my glasses and how I should wear them more often.
3. I secretly want to be a stand up comedian.
4. When I was a child I wanted to be Joan Jett.
5. I have been a vegetarian since I was 16 years old.
6. I was a member of Youth for Animals in high school, and I wrote one of my college essays on the environmental reasons for vegetarianism.
7. I am a now a vegetarian who eats salmon and gefilte fish.
8. I have never purchased my own bike.
9. I have been a Mac person since 1985.
10. When I was a child I had a crush on Ricky Schroeder, and kept a porfolio of pictures of him.
11. I maintain two blogs.
12. I wrote my undergraduate thesis on the influence of racism in rape trials.
13. I wrote my Masters thesis on the therapeutic value of ‘zines.
14. My current creative aspiration is to have a 10 minute play in the Boston Theater Marathon.
15. In high school, I directed a play.
16. In 1993, one of my closest friends killed herself.
17. In 1994, I came out as bisexual. This was not unrelated to #16.
18. I served as union president (SEIU Local 987) from 1998-1999.
19. When I was in 2nd grade I lived in Greece for a year. It was here that I had my first kiss.
20. It was supposed to be 2 years, but we came back early because my aunt died of Hodgkin’s disease at the age of 33.
21. When I was in 7th grade, I lived in London for 6 months.
22. In 1995 I lived in Israel for 4 months. I was there when Prime Minister Rabin was assassinated.
23. I am very suspicious of capitalism and therefore any new products.
24. I am often uncomfortable in super-liberal crowds because of the subject of Israel.
25. I am a Pisces sun and Sagittarius moon, and a I vacillate between liking astrology and thinking it’s all bullshit.

~ by realsupergirl on January 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “25 Things About Me”

  1. wait a second. 1994? how is it i think i knew you were queer in 1991?

  2. Nah, in 1991 I still thought I was totally straight. I didn’t even start having dreams about Daria until fall of 1993.

Leave a Reply

 
