“I’m displaying the very self-absorption that will destroy us all”

I freakin’ love Bill Maher. Yeah, he’s an asshole sometimes, but he’s one of the funniest, most spot-on people in popular culture today.

In the latest episode of Real Time (which, by the way, you can download in audio form for free as a podcast) he has the following riff on popular culture and new technology:

Now, in his speech before Congress on Tuesday, the president pointed out that we’re addicted to oil, can’t afford health care, our education system is broken, our economy is near collapse, and the day of reckoning has arrived. But, many members of Congress didn’t hear all that, because during the speech, they were “Twittering.” Which is when you type out little messages on your hand-held device to tell everyone what you’re doing right now! Like, “I’m displaying the very self-absorption that will destroy us all!”

What must Obama have thought as he looked upon this? Hey, “Senator Gossip Girl,” I’m up here. You know, Nero fiddled while Rome burned, but at least he knew how to play an instrument. Folks, this is not a drill. This is the real thing. Our “booze cruise” has hit the iceberg. And I don’t want it to sink. We all need to get involved and learn how to do things and make things again. This is the moment where we must steel our resolve, reach through our blanket screens, grab our farting phone and send off a mighty Twitter saying, ‘Yes, we can!!‘.”

In Googling for the Bill Maher quote in the title of my post, I discovered that several people (including me) have now made the quote their Twitter status line. I think it’s so right it’s awesome. And maddening.

~ by realsupergirl on March 9, 2009.

4 Responses to ““I’m displaying the very self-absorption that will destroy us all””

  1. You’re on Twitter now?

  2. I have a very inactive Twitter account.

  3. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  4. Hello !!! 🙂
    My name is Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Your Piter

Leave a Reply

 
