Talking

You know, I’m a therapist. And even though I’m an expressive arts therapist who tries to encourage everyone I see to express themselves through art, writing, music, movement, etc – I wind up doing a lot of talking.

So talking is something I’m a big fan of. Ask my beloved – she comes from a family where people don’t talk about their feelings or problems, whereas I come from a family where people don’t STOP talking.

So you can imagine, I think it’s a fabulous idea that Obama is talking to the Ayatollah of Iran and the president of Afghanistan. It’s been ridiculed as naive or even dangerous by his critics – but why? Talking never hurt anyone. Talking – not threatening or demanding, but talking – can only either lead to good things or lead to nowhere. Well, we’re already nowhere in terms of our approach to terrorism and international conflict. We’ve created more terrorism and caused much of the world to see as as a big bully. I can’t imagine talking could make anything worse. Maybe it will even make things better.

~ by realsupergirl on March 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
