On blogging

Sculpture

I feel like this blog is shifting. Or rather, my need for blogging is shifting. I didn’t blog at all on vacation. I didn’t even really read anyone’s blogs, and not just because internet access was limited. It’s not that I am not interested in what people have to say, or in keeping faraway friends informed about our life out here in Boston. I’m not sure what it is. But things are shifting.

Ironically enough, I am presenting a workshop this August on the therapeutic value of blogs and ‘zines. I still believe they are therapeutic – but they also have to evolve. Facebook has replaced my blog as the way I keep up to date with friends’ lives, so what does that mean for my blog? I’ve even been posting a “poem of the day” on Facebook, and photos, so that’s no longer something I have to use this blog for. So what is the value of this blog?

Well, first of all, it’s my space. It’s not cluttered with all the wonderful, fascinating, annoying, ridiculous Facebook games and quizzes and links. Sometimes I need a quite place to go and get my head together. This is where I can do that.

It’s also where I post poetry. I don’t feel like sharing poetry with everyone I have added as a friend on Facebook. But I do value people’s feedback and the validation of knowing people read my stuff. Of course, that’s a double-edged sword, because then I sometimes feel rejected and ignored if no one comments or seems to be reading my poetry.

I’m not sure what all that means. But what I would like is for you – all of you, reading this now – to take a few minutes and leave me a comment and tell me why you blog. If it’s OK, I would like to use your comments in the workshop in August. Anonymously, of course.

~ by realsupergirl on May 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “On blogging”

  1. I blog sporadically because the need to blog strikes me sporadically. I am, generally, guarded about sharing private things with people, and I have never felt the desire or seen any value in posting my personal affairs/feelings/problems to a public blog. Now, that is not to say that I don’t see any value _at all_ in the practice- all of the blogs I read involve public airings of very private and intense things, and I can see a therapeutic/artistic value in the medium- but I have never especially wanted to (or been brave/foolhardy enough to). So mostly I blog when some political issue or other gets me pissed off or baffled. Usually I have some misanthropic take on it that I feel is worth sharing with (or perhaps, inflicting on) the random net-audience. Otherwise, I blog when under the influence- but since February I have been sober, and thus not inclined to blog. Or even to check facebook that much.
    Also, over the years [and perhaps I should mention that I am old enough to remember a time before the world wide web existed- at least, I _think_ I remember] I have occasionally created anonymous blogs to attempt… well, I’m not sure what I was attempting with them really. Something more literary, or attempting to foment a new social movement, or somesuch. But I didn’t keep up with those either.

    Anyways, the blog as a medium of therapy or art will endure to the extent that it is useful as such. Livejournal upon a time served a largely social-networking function, e.g.,(and still does, though now more of a niche than the only-game-in-social-networking-town)now usurped by myspace–>facebook–>twitter–>whatever the cool kids are doing now. The Orbis Blogorum will thus be refined, if it survives, in a direction determined by those who persist as blog-authors. Maybe that’s a truism. Well, I never claimed to be insightful, I just like to talk.

  2. Thank you for your thoughts, Yano. Ironically enough, having this discussion on a blog, in a public way, is part of what I think can be therapeutic about blogs. But at the same time, sometimes blogs can be “too public” and I have been increasingly aware of things I don’t want to talk about in a public way. But I never recall feeling that way about ‘zines, back when I made ‘zines. Maybe it’s because I had more control about where my ‘zines went than I do over where my words and images online go when I blog them.

Leave a Reply

 
