Write, write, write

Reply to this post using words, and I’ll give you 5 words that remind me of you. Then post to your own blog with your meditations on those words, inviting others to ask you for words.

heliopsis gave me some words. Here are my thoughts:

Compassion. We need more of this in the world, don’t we? It’s not just from the intolerant right wing who wants to take away my rights and limit what I can do with my body, or the intolerant fundamentalist Muslims who want to restrict what women can do. I’m just as intolerent of them as they are of me. I recently purchased a copy of Patricia Smith’s poetry, and her poem “Skinhead” is possibly the most mind blowing poem ever written. If an African-American woman can evoke empathy for a white supremacist, surely there is hope for the rest of us.

Social consciousness. Social consciousness means caring what happens to the world, and to the people living in it. It’s really that simple. It isn’t about political party, religious background, or the lack thereof. It’s a code of morality that transcends G-d and politics, although some people get there via G-d or politics. But if you use your G-d or your politics as a bludgeon, you have eviscerated the social consciousness you sought in the first place.

Writing. Writing is what I do. I don’t know how to not do it. I don’t know how good I am at it, or how good I a can be, but I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t do it. I have been making up stories since I was 6 years old. I think in metaphors, without even trying. It is my blood, the air I breathe.

Listening. I do a lot of that in my professional life. I could do better at it in my personal life. Active listening requires energy and attention, and sometimes I use up my store in my eight hours or so at work. Which kind of sucks if you’re married to me.

Lesbian. My first reaction to this word was, ugh. That’s not me. I have always had a strong aversion to this word, “dyke” would have evoked a more positive emotional reaction from me. Lesbians are old and dress poorly, lesbians are academic and boring and not interested in sex and pushing limits and changing the status quo. But also, I’m not a lesbian. I am, and always have been, bisexual. Of course, the longer I remain in a monogamous marriage to a woman, the more the rest of the world sees me as a lesbian. But, ugh. That’s not me.

~ by realsupergirl on July 2, 2009.

4 Responses to “Write, write, write”

  1. I’ll take five more words!

    My wife, who identifies as bisexual, has the inverse problem – everyone treats her as straight and a lot of the queer community look at her like a faker (In actuality, her preference tends towards women – I was the exception).

  2. Oh…I want to play. Send me 5 words please!

    I was “bicurious” in college but what silly girl isn’t? I don’t think it really counts if you get shitcanned and make out with your best girlfriend in the bathroom at Dunkin Dounuts and on a hammock and at a bar. Does that count?

    • LOL. I think I made out with a number of girls like you.

      Leigh: Mother. Self-reflective. Witty. Nostalgia. Selflessness.

Leave a Reply

 
