On being “queer”

Queer manifesto
(c) 2009 by Realsupergirl

I identify as queer. I am not a lesbian. I am, technically, bisexual, but more often than not I choose to identify as queer.

Queer is not just about who you are fucking or who you are married to. Queer is a way of seeing the world, an assertion of what your values are.

I am queer because I believe people should have equal rights, regardless of whether they fuck men, fuck women, like kinky sex, polyamorous relationships, or don’t fit into the rigid gender binary.

I am queer because I believe capitalism needs to be regulated and economic class determines our place in the world and affects our political perspective more than just about anything else.

I am queer because I believe it is important to work with people who don’t always agree with me in order to protect other people’s rights and to protect the environment.

I am queer because I reject politics of rigid absolutes. I am queer because I don’t want to live in a world with rigid absolutes.

I am queer because I believe love is the defining force in the universe, in both its presence and its absence.

~ by realsupergirl on September 23, 2009.

11 Responses to “On being “queer””

  1. *Claps*

  2. There is an award waiting for you over at Leigh vs Laundry.

    XO
    Leigh

  3. I LOVE this.

  4. Thank you!!!

  5. Beautiful! 🙂

  6. […] fundamentally different but we need to keep it in mind. Today, trawling the internet, I found a new queer manifesto. It is written by the blogger Supergirl and it’s a lovely text. We as queers, the queer […]

  7. “I am queer because I believe it is important to work with people who don’t always agree with me in order to protect other people’s rights and to protect the environment.”

    Absolutely. Why isn’t this obvious to more people? “A threat to justice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.”

    Solidarity.

    Jeannine

  8. […] } Looking at the stats for my own blog, I discovered that this post was re-posted without my permission. That’s OK, since they copied it word for word and gave me […]

  9. This is beautiful.

    “I am queer because I reject politics of rigid absolutes. I am queer because I don’t want to live in a world with rigid absolutes.

    I am queer because I believe love is the defining force in the universe, in both its presence and its absence. ”

    Perfect.

  10. we like this, supergirl 🙂
    with love from fag club x

  11. […] On being “queer” September 200910 comments and 3 Likes on WordPress.com 4 […]

Leave a Reply

 
