365/365 Poem #11

Letter from Ted Kennedy

I know I’ve made mistakes, Massachusetts
but you’ve always stood by me.
I have fought for you harder
than any other leader
in any other state.
Who would have thought
my biggest misstep
was dying too soon?
Of course
if there had been term limits
I would have never been able
to do as much as I did
would have never lasted
as long as I did.
I can’t believe this
pretty boy imposter
is who you send to replace me.
Have you no respect
for my work,
for my legacy?
I can’t believe this
Tea Party lunkhead
–who doesn’t believe
in women’s right
to their own bodies
who doesn’t believe
gay people are people
who doesn’t believe
the rest of the country
deserves the same health care
I fought for you to have —
I can’t believe
that’s who you send
to replace me.
I feel betrayed.

~ by realsupergirl on January 20, 2010.

One Response to “365/365 Poem #11”

  1. Amen.

Leave a Reply

 
