Goodbye, Aunt Marian

My great aunt Marian died early this morning. She was an amazing woman for most of her life – the last couple years have been hard, but the rest were full of life and learning. We should all be so lucky.

A family story: When my mother was engaged to my father, Marian, like the rest of my mother’s family, was appalled that she was marrying a non-Jew. But 40 years later, Marian insisted on traveling from Florida for my wedding to a non-Jewish woman, and she was a champion of treating my relationship with just as much respect as every other marriage in the family.

She was proof that if we don’t stop learning, we develop into amazing people. Eventually.

~ by realsupergirl on February 24, 2010.

One Response to “Goodbye, Aunt Marian”

  1. I am sorry about your loss. She sounds like a giving person.

Leave a Reply

 
