On patriotism

I am not patriotic because I don’t believe in the supremacy of any one nation.

I am patriotic because I believe in history, and I believe in human evolution, which has honed and refined the concept of democracy over and over since the time of the Greeks.

I am patriotic because I believe maybe someday we’ll get it right.

I am not patriotic because I believe America is not better than other nations.

I am patriotic because I believe other nations are no better than America.

I am patriotic because I believe in the possibility of government serving people.

I am not patriotic because I believe government is easily corrupted, because people are easily corrupted.

I am patriotic because I believe in the usefulness of having a “nation”.

I am patriotic because I believe in the value of having a pluralistic nation made up of other nations.

I am not patriotic because I don’t always feel like my nation is represented in this country.

I am patriotic because I believe in the process of reforming America until my nation is represented.

I am patriotic because the alternative to patriotism is anarchism, which is where my darkest, most cynical thoughts lead me.

I am patriotic because anarchism scares me.

I am patriotic because not being patriotic is the most patriotic thing a person can do in a free society.

~ by realsupergirl on July 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
