Why I love the Amazing Race

I don’t really like much television. We don’t even own a television. I tend to deconstruct television too much to enjoy it, because if it doesn’t hold up to deconstruction it just looks like crap. (There are exceptions: The Wire, Six Feet Under, United States of Tara, Twin Peaks, X-Files…)

But I love the Amazing Race. And I HATE reality shows. So why do I love the Amazing Race? Because I love games. And the Amazing Race feels more like a game than a reality show. It’s less about “voting someone off” and popularity contests than it is a contest, with strategy and learning.

What I hate about the Amazing Race tends to be the couples. What I’ve learned from the Amazing Race is that running in a competition on limited sleep and constantly having to negotiate new situations is not so good for intimate partnerships. Seriously, couples fare much worse on the show and it often brings out the worst in people. Even on this season, where you have the role reversal of the tough female constantly hammering at her more femme partner (who happens to be a boy) – it’s just a twist on the same dynamic. Siblings are used to traveling together, used to bickering, and know that no matter what they do, they can’t get rid each other. The same is not the same for partners, which is why I think siblings fare so much better. Friends also do well, but it has to be a close friendship. I’ve decided if I run the race it should be with Newspaper Girl. We’ve traveled together a lot, we complement each other well, and we’re pretty even-tempered together. And she even knows how to drive a stick shift! Now we just need to get in shape.

So, dear readers (are you still out there? I know this blog has been quiet for long stretches of time) — who would YOU run the Amazing Race with? What would be your strength and your weakness?

~ by realsupergirl on April 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Why I love the Amazing Race”

  1. I’ve only seen the show once or twice (it was a favorite of my SO’s mom though) but I think I’d do great! I drive stick shift, know the difference between gas and diesel (I remember that being an issue in the episode I saw…), and I’m good at getting around in new places. And as cheesy as it sounds, I’d go with my SO. I’d fight all the time with my siblings. My SO is my best friend and we are both pretty even-tempered and logical.

  2. Do you really think your SO could stand to be on The Amazing Race?

    Oh, and I’d volunteer to go with you if she won’t!

Leave a Reply

 
