10 Most Rewatchable Movies of All Time

WordPress featured this blog post with someone else’s list of rewatchable movies, and I was amazed at how many of the movies on it I wouldn’t even want to watch once, much less more than once. It certainly tells you how different people’s taste can be, but I think in a more meaningful way it also brings up the question of what makes a movie re-watchable. One of the movies on the original list was Pulp Fiction, which is a movie I actually have seen multiple times, but no longer can tolerate watching. It’s too violent with no actual purpose to the violence, and I find that hard to stomach these days. On the other hand, I love the Terminator movies, which are no less violent, but provide some meaning along with their entertainment.

So here’s my list of most watchable movies:

1. Finding Nemo

It’s the best animated movie ever made, IMO. The story is sweet without being sappy, it’s funny and clever.

2. Princess Bride

It’s the movie I watch when I’m sick in bed. It’s comforting and familiar, and even though I can quote the whole movie along with it, I still enjoy watching the story unfold every time.

3. Leaving Normal

It’s been a while since I watched this one, mostly because I haven’t found a DVD copy yet and I rarely watch videos anymore. But I watched it every year for awhile there. It’s about accepting that life is about making choices, and sometimes those are bad choices, but also about learning to let go of the desire to control the outcome so much.

4. Sammy and Rosie Get Laid
Another one I only have on VHS, but also another one I used to watch frequently. It’s about trying to find love amid race and class politics and while living in a city. It’s also kind of a love letter to city-living, embracing the chaos that cities sometimes bring.

5. Beautiful Girls

Still another one I need to update to DVD. It’s kind of like Leaving Normal, because there are some great life lessons that I need to remind myself of by watching this movie, but like Leaving Normal it doesn’t tell me those lessons, it lets them unfold with the characters’ drama. This one is also a great ensemble movie, with a fantastic performance by a young Natalie Portman, as well as Martha Plimpton, Matt Dillion, Timothy Hutton, Annabeth Gish, Rosie O’Donnell, and Michael Rapaport.

6. The Back to the Future trilogy

Back to the Future is goofy and silly, but it’s actually very well-made within the world it creates. It works as a trilogy, and is a lot of fun to watch in one sitting, or close to one sitting.

7. The Hours

The Hours is one of those movies you can watch over and over again and still get something new out of it. There’s just so much going on, and it’s so beautifully made and well-acted.

8. Terminator 1 and Terminator 2

So good as a double-feature, and really let’s just pretend they didn’t keep making more, because every movie after Terminator 2 just got progressively worse. But the first two are classics, and enjoyable to watch again and again.

9. Harold and Maude

Could easily make my list for ten best movies ever made. So good. Darkly funny, yet deeply meaningful, brilliantly acted.

10. A Dirty Shame

No list of top movies would be complete without a John Waters movie, since he’s my favorite moviemaker of all time. I could easily put Pecker, Serial Mom, Hairspray, Pink Flamingos, Desperate Living, or Female Trouble here too. But in our sex-negative fucked up culture, this movie has been speaking to me a lot lately. I think I need to go re-watch it.

I can only come up with 10 movies for now. Maybe I’ll add another ten when I get a chance.

As a sidebar, I’m curious how my movies rank on the Bechdel test? It looks like Princess Bride, Back to the Future fail, but all the others pass the test. Although I’m not sure about Beautiful Girls, and it’s not in the database — I’ll have to go back and re-watch it.

~ by realsupergirl on June 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
