What is blogging for?

I’m not sure what I want out of this blog anymore, which is probably why I haven’t been using it as much. I still miss the community on Livejournal, but the “are you really 18” warning that popped up on many of my friends posts was a creepy reminder of what Livejournal has become. I used to think blogging was what I did instead of ‘zines, but it lacks the immediacy and creativity of ‘zines. Then I thought Facebook and Twitter replaced blogging and mourned the loss of longer, more in-depth posts in favor of things that could fit in a status update or 140 characters. But I’m not quite satisfied with Facebook, Twitter, Google plus, or any of the other social networking sites right now.

I think I might be oversaturated with social networking. I think I’m bored with social networking.

I want to be writing more. I want to be making art more. I want to be spending less time at my computer. Yet here I am, typing this on my computer. It’s a problem. Is the internet killing my creativity?

~ by realsupergirl on July 22, 2011.

One Response to “What is blogging for?”

  1. I can’t tell you how many half-started blog posts I have written right now. I find that I still have a lot of information I want to put out there, particularly to counter a lot of the fiction that public policy reporting has become. However, I am such a perfectionist when it comes to what will be on the web forever, I never quite get my longer posts done. Instead, I rely on the 140 character limit of Twitter to confine my obsessiveness to where it is manageable.

    I used to spend way too much time on my computer, but my usage dropped off dramatically during my post-CubeSpace black hole period. Although my mojo (at least for the most part) is back, I find that my patience with being online all of time is not. And yes, my creativity has captured most of newly available time. I have expanding my craftiness from just knitting, to include embroidery and sewing. I have also learned how to crochet, and I have a spinning wheel just begging for my attention in my entryway.

    I still don’t spend as much time crafting as I would like, but that is because my attention (and hands) are directed towards David or our increasingly affectionate cats. And that is exactly the kind of trade-off I am happy to balance.

Leave a Reply

 
