Day 8: False choices

We can have both freedom of speech – which includes vile, disgusting hate speech – and also be critical of bigotry.

To be clear, I had never heard of Charlie Hebdo before yesterday. And the terrorist attack on their offices was vile and disgusting.

But the more I hear about Charlie Hebdo, the more I learn how vile and disgusting they were too. They were racist, homophobic , and xenophobic. They were basically Rush Limbaugh if Rush were smart enough to do humor.

So no, I’m not Charlie, and I hope no on reading this is either. But I still condemn the attacks. I may fantasize about blowing up Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, or the hate machine over at Faux News, but I don’t do it. Because that’s what it means to live in a civilized society. And to be a grownup.

~ by realsupergirl on January 8, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
