Day 62

Ugh, like coming back from a weekend away to the real world Isn’t hard enough, I came down with cold symptoms almost immediately upon return.  

I never used to get sick more than once a year. I’ve gotten sick twice in the past month.  I blame the largely ineffective flu shot this year. Or the fact that it’s my first winter with my son in day care. 

But what I wanted to write about today is the weird, paradoxical thing about being a mental health therapist – it’s  when I do my job that clients leave me.  Then I have to say goodbye, after they’ve let me into their most private lives. The better I do my job, the more opportunities I have for these goodbyes – the alternative is people leave without saying goodbye, or they become dependent on me in a way that isn’t particularly healthy.  I think it’s no coincidence that the longer I’ve been a therapist the more opportunities I’ve had to see clients for years, and then  have a proper goodbye,   Of course, it also helps that I’ve been in the same workplace for twelve years.  

~ by realsupergirl on March 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
