Day 73

The judgment hurled at mothers is out of control.  It’s mothers, too – not parents.  The minimal amount of parenting from fathers gets lauded and celebrated, but mothers are criticized at every turn.  And then it’s so hard not to internalize that and feel like a failure for every thing we do, especially if it’s not met with enthusiasm of clear markers of success.  Which, you know, is most of the time when it comes to parenting. 

I try not to be guilty of doing the same thing.  If it’s not a safety issue, I pretty much keep my mouth shut when it comes to what other kids do, what parenting choices other parents make.  

Which is why I bother to speak up about vaccines.  If it were just a personal decision parents made for their kids, I wouldn’t.  I do think it’s best for my kid, but that’s my choice.  The problem is, not vaccinating hurts other people – often the most vulnerable – the sick and the very young who can’t get vaccinated.  

~ by realsupergirl on March 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
