Day 82

Toddlers are so forgiving. We could learn from them.

My son still wants me to hold him when he’s crying because I accidently bonked him walking by, or when I’m the one who won’t give him what I wants. My son is also learning to tell his friends “That’s not nice!” or “I don’t like that!” when they are aggressive or mean. But you know what? In both cases, he still wants to play as soon as he’s been heard, and there’s some attempt at reconciliation.

A thought I had about the friend drama we’ve had is that the capacity to forgive is important. On the other hand, at this point, the friends who have dumped us would have to work hard to be back in our lives even if they wanted to – because there has to be some attempt at reconciliation, of apology, of responsibility, in order to forgive. But toddlers don’t require much – and neither should we. Life is short. When do we get so bad at knowing when to let go and forgive, and get back to playing?

~ by realsupergirl on March 23, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
