Day 100, 30 day poem challenge day 10

Prosaic Fan Fiction: Pick 2-3 characters from a favorite book, movie, or TV show and put them into a scene in a prose poem.

Luna Lovegood meets Holden Caulfield

Luna swung on the swings outside the Great Hall at Hogwarts. She missed her friends from the Dumbledore’s Army. It had been so nice having friends. Still, the air was cool and delicious, and she was going out this weekend to pick snarglepuffs, so all was right in the world.

“Can I swing too?” and awkward looking dark haired boy appeared, as if out of nowhere. He reminded her of Harry Potter, a little, except more awkward.

“I don’t own the swings,” Luna said plainly. “That’s a silly question.”

“That’s true,” the boy said, and he climbed on the swing next to her. He didn’t really swing much though, he mostly stared at his feet and the dirt under the swing.

“You’re a Muggle, aren’t you?” Luna asked.

“I’m a what?” the boy looked surprised.

“Non-magical folk. I can tell. Don’t worry, I don’t think we’re any better than Muggles. Not like some people here. But how did you wind up here?”

The boy stared at her as if she was speaking a different language.

“Where are you from?” Luna asked simply. She smiled, a little forced. She’s done it again. People always thought she was too weird and too honest.

“New York City, I guess,” Holden said. “I’m looking for my sister. I don’t really know how I got here, though. Did you say “magical folk?”

“Yeah. Don’t worry about it,” Luna said, and silently she cast a memory charm, her hand on her wand inside her pocket.

“I like you,” Holden said. “Everyone else is so phony. You seem real.”

“That’s the awkward, honest kind of thing I would say,” Luna said.

“What do you mean?” Holden looked confused.

“Never mind,” Luna said, “I like you too.”

“I’m Holden,” Holden said. He had a nice smile.

“Luna,” Luna smiled back at him.

They swung together for over an hour, and then Luna had to get back to Ravenclaw before curfew. She tried to find Holden the next day, but he had gone.

She always wondered where he came from, and wanted to see him again.

~ by realsupergirl on April 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
