Day 146: Natalia B versus Cathy A

In sixth grade I started middle school.  I was terrified to go to Garner, my local public junior high, and I’d been bullied all throughout elementary school. So I went to Keystone, a private K-12 school, because my dad taught there:  We got free tuition.  But it was also a math and science school, and I was an art and theater kind of kid.  Natalia B was instantly welcoming to me, in a way that was unfamiliar to me.  She was also very, very wealthy, in a way that was very unfamiliar, and alienating.  But I noticed right away that there were certain kids in my small sixth grade class who were not invited to Natalia B’s house, or her parties.  Kids like Cathy A, who was sort of weird and awkward.  Kids who were poor.  I remember making a distinctive, conscious choice that year to reject the Natalias of my class, and of the world, and to seek out the Cathys instead.  And while that fact  about myself is often one I wear with pride, it hasn’t always made my life easier, either.  

~ by realsupergirl on May 26, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
