Day 186

Lost track of time again.  Ugh.  And I was starting to be on a roll with daily posts.  Suddenly six days have gone by!  The summer has eaten my brain.  

My girl is converting to Judaism next Friday.  It’s not for me.  We found a rabbi who would marry us ״interfaith״ (it’s in quotes because there’s not really another faith involved) and it’s really not about me.  It’s her journey.  Yet, we’re taking our son to the mikveh because she’s going anyway, and I want to close that loop and make his adoption conversion official, even though our rabbi doesn’t think it’s necessary for him to be considered Jewish.  So why am I doing it?  Well, the reason I’ve mostly been giving is because I don’t know what kind of Jew he’ll want to be as he gets older and I want to elimate all the barriers I can go him being accepted.  It’s deeper than that though.  I fear so much for the day when anyone in the world will look at him and fear him simply for being a black man, I want them to see him as the sweet boy, the Jewish boy, the loving joyful man I hope he will grow up to be.  In some ways I think the mikveh is part of my armor to make me feel less powerless.  

~ by realsupergirl on July 5, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
